Author Topic: any ideas on how to fix this?  (Read 2886 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Kyndig

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - Kyndig
    • View Profile
    • Email
any ideas on how to fix this?
« on: July 11, 2012, 06:46:02 AM »
i recently got a new computer with windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit.
and yet it lets me install bg: the original saga, but the problem is it says i need administrator access to save the ini file when i put the cheats=1 line into it with notepad.
for some reason it says can not save to that ini file and says access is denied when i try and save it in the override file.
Anybody know what i am doing wrong? i am the only user on this computer.
I really hope someone can help me with this problem i want to enable cheats and put stuff into the override folder like i used to, when i was a member of the original site.

Offline Solaufein

  • Lord of the Realms
  • Administrator
  • Level 5
  • *****
  • Posts: 5135
  • Karma: +127/-19
  • Gender: Male
  • Man against the Machine
    • ICQ Messenger - 251194643
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - gscott7833
    • View Profile
    • http://teambg.net
Re: any ideas on how to fix this?
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2012, 06:46:04 AM »
Sounds like you installed the game under Program Files. It used to be fine in the old operating systems but Win 7 makes it a royal pain now. To save yourself a lot of grief I would install it in a folder called Games and place it under your C: or whatever your master drive letter is.
My mods:
Dark Horizons
The Undying
Nikita
IWD2 store

Co-contributor:
Dark Side of the Sword Coast BG1 Weidu
Aurils Bane
Encounters
Saerileth
Baldur's Gate - Enhanced Edition beta tester
Baldur's Gate 2 - Enhanced Edition beta tester
Icewind Dale - Enhanced Edition beta tester

Offline Kyndig

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - Kyndig
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: any ideas on how to fix this?
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2012, 06:46:05 AM »
thanks Apocalypse, i think i did them  in something called C: program files (x86) etc.  I will try and reinstall that so i can see if that works.